Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

County residents elect Council for 2017-2021 term

Incumbent mayor Omer Moghrabi wins re-election

Post Date:10/18/2017 8:55 AM

Lac La Biche County’s Council for the next four years has been elected.

The unofficial results of the October 16, 2017 municipal election show incumbent mayor Omer Moghrabi to be the Mayor-Elect. The eight Councillors for this term are:

Darlene Beniuk (Ward 1)
George L’Heureux (Ward 2)
Colette Borgun (Ward 3)
Jason Stedman (Ward 4)
Charlyn Moore (Ward 5) (Acclaimed)
Sterling Johnson (Ward 6)
Lorin Tkachuk and Colin Cote (Ward 7)

Election results will become official on Friday, October 20 at noon.

Polling stations opened at 9 a.m. today and reported a total of approximately 3,500 ballots cast at five different locations. There were 386 votes cast on October 7 during advance polls in Lac La Biche and Plamondon.

“I would like to thank the residents of Lac La Biche County for their support and for trusting me with the reins of leadership for the next four years,” said Mayor-Elect Moghrabi. “I would also like to extend my appreciation to all of the candidates who stood for election. I look forward to working with our new Council to continue building a bright, prosperous future for our community.”

Mayor-Elect Moghrabi and Councillors will take their oaths of office at McArthur Place on Tuesday, October 24 at 10 a.m. The swearing-in ceremony will take place in Council Chambers on the second floor. MLA David Hanson will be administering the oaths of office.

Return to full list >>