Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Ward 5 Councillor Charlyn Moore becomes Deputy Mayor effective February 1, 2020

Post Date:01/31/2020 3:27 PM

Effective February 1, 2020 (tomorrow), Ward 5 Councillor Charlyn Moore will take on the role of Deputy Mayor. She follows Ward 2 Councillor George L'Heureux, who has served as Deputy Mayor for the past four months.

At the 2019 Organizational Meeting, County Council changed the Deputy Mayor position from a one-year to a four-month term, allowing each Councillor a chance to act as Deputy Mayor before the next municipal election. 

After Deputy Mayor Moore's term is up at the end of May 2020, Councillors Sterling Johnson, Colin Cote, Darlene Beniuk, and Jason Stedman will serve in the position.