Information for Voters

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Information for Voters 

What is the municipal election? 

On October 16, 2017 voters will elect the following positions: 

  • Mayor 
  • Ward Councillor 

Those elected will form the municipal council for Lac La Biche County until the fall of 2021.  Council is the governing body that makes decision on County initiatives, including: property taxes, roads, utilities, recreation, landfills, protective services, land use planning and other municipal services.

Click here for a full list of candidates, as well as their contact information.

Who can vote? 

You are eligible to vote if: 

  • You are at least 18 years old; 
  • You are a Canadian citizen; and 
  • You have resided in Alberta for the 6 months immediately before Election Day and are a resident of Lac La Biche County on Election Day. 

Click here to view a ward map.

Voter ID 

In order to vote, you must produce one piece of ID that confirms your name and address.  This includes your drivers licence, utility bill, or a vehicle insurance card.  Click here for a list of acceptable ID

Here are several attestation options to verify your identity:

Special Ballots

If you are unable to vote at the advance vote or on Election Day due to physical incapacity or being absent from the County, you may apply to vote by special (mail-in) ballot.  You must submit your request for special ballot in writing and all special ballots must be received by the Returning Officer by the close of voting on Election Day (8:00 p.m. on October 16, 2017).  Click here for the application to vote by special ballot.  

Completed special ballot applications shall be forwarded to the Returning Officer:  

In Person: McArthur Place
Second Floor, 10307 – 100 Street
Lac La Biche, Alberta


Fax: 780-623-2039

Mail: PO Box 1679, Lac La Biche, Alberta  T0A 2C0 

Advance Vote 

Advance voting will take place on Saturday, October 7, 2017 from 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. at the Bold Center Devon Room in Lac La Biche (Mayor & All Wards*) and at Festival Centre in Plamondon (Mayor and Wards 2 & 3). 

*The Councillor for Ward 5 has been elected by acclamation. 

Election Day 

Voting will take place on Monday, October 16, 2017 from 9:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. at the following locations:

Voting Station


Craigend Community Centre

Mayor &Ward 1

Hylo Community Centre

Mayor & Wards 1, 2 & 4

Lac La Biche - Devon Room

Mayor & All Wards*

Owl River Community Centre

Mayor & Ward 6

Plamondon Festival Centre

Mayor & Wards 2 & 3

*The Councillor for Ward 5 has been elected by acclamation. 

You may only vote at a voting station for the ward in which you reside.